Basics Film-Making 03 – Directing Fiction

Directing Fiction

Basics Film-Making 03 – Directing Fiction by Robert Edgar-Hunt, published by AVA ISBN: 13: 978-2-940411-00-9

I found this book on Amazon as part of a series and I decided to buy them.  I have read the series for photography for which there are ten and found them very good and useful to my courses and helpful with guide to good practice; so I have purchased the film-making set and this was the first to arrive and read.

I have already read books on stage direction and most of the principles for directing actors are the same; but there are good tips for those who have no prior directing experience or knowledge and there is a lot of useful information as to how to properly gat about planning and making your first film from pre-production planning and assembly of your team through production tips and post-production.  Including information on film festivals both national and international as well as the legal stuff such as copyright and consent.

Although this book covers more advanced teaching than my course requires it did give some useful tips for example when filming asking the actors to start acting a little earlier than their first words and to carry on a few seconds after their last words; so that these few extra seconds can be used in editing for smoother transitions.  Also to be aware that they may inadvertently took directly at the camera and this reminds you to mention this to non experienced actors who will most likely do this without a thought.  Should I pursue film-making for hobby and want to create something to exhibition standard then this is the book to follow to get you there each chapter provides case-studies, interviews with a top film director and exercises to help you develop your skills.

I am currently working on part four of my course which is sound and again this book offers some useful tips and a little more background information on this topic.  I read this in one day, nice and easy to read, enjoyable and informative.  I would recommend.


Leave a comment