18% Grey card

For my first short-film that I made for assignment one I wasn’t disciplined enough to carefully white-balance every shot; so my first film does I feel have some issues with consistent white-balance.  So I starting with assignment 2, every shot made in a different location, light or just different day, I always take a new white-balance measurement on my camera using a small grey-card in my X-Rite color-passport that I use for still photography.  This means that I can control the white-balance accurately and even make manual adjustments from a known starting-point should I want to warm or cool the image I am making.

This is important because I discovered that I can not correct my white-balance after taking the movie shot as I can with my still photography.

Leave a Reply

