Project Film – Extending time

Exercise - Expanding time

https://vimeo.com/221274250

Film-makers have use various methods to extend time the most obvious is slow-motion and in the example suggested in my course work a mixture of slow-motion and shots from different camera angles and edited to overlap in the timeline to stretch out the moment in to a longer sequence.  In this YouTube link from a scene from the movie ‘The Untouchables’  we see a sequence of shots of a shoot out with and a baby in a pram rolling down the staircase in the middle of the action.  This was inspired by a Russian film made in the 1920’s by Sergei Eisenstein, called ‘Battleship Potempkin’.

I was also inspired to do this is little exercise from the book Film Art chapter 8, pages 228 and 229 by David Bordwell, Kristin Thompson and Jeff Smith, a short-film that I made taking the idea of expanding / stretching a short period of time for increased drama, in this case a thriller.  I created a scene with four shots from different POV the edited them together.  I used my Nikon D800e with a 24mm f/2.8 and a 50mm f/1.8 lenses and a tripod.  I had set my camera to monochrome for some photos for an earlier exercise and when I set my camera to movie mode it kept this setting and I having now discovered how to set my monochrome for movie mode as well as still-photography I decided that I would make this short-film in black-and-white.  Light was metered using Sekonic hand-held light-meter.

Camera settings:  ISO-400, monochrome, 25 fps.

Shot 1#  POV from top of stairs looking down: 24mm f/2.8, f/s f/3.6

Shot 2#  POV from bottom of stairs looking up: 24mm f/2.8, f/s f/5.0.

Shot 3#  POV from axeman: 50mm f1.8, 25 f/s, f/2.2.

Shot 4#  POV looking through bannisters: 50mm f1.8, f/s f/3.2.

I then edited the shots cutting and re-arranging.  I originally recorded sound but decided not to use it for this exercise.

 

Leave a Reply

