Exercise – Reflected “bounced” light

This image is the closest to my own visual dynamic-range.  However, to find an image that my camera could capture with it’s own more limited dynamic-range, I took a number of photographs adjusting the light reflected on to the subject and the exposure.  This in fact was the last image I took using a silver-reflector as close as I could get it throwing maximum light back on to the subject.

_DSC3874I only used natural-light and a white and silver reflector to bounce light back in to the shadows.  I used a Nikon D800e with a 105mm f/2.8 lens, I metered separately using my Sekonic light-meter for an accurate exposure, given the tricky lighting-conditions.  I have to confess that I am a great fan of the handheld light-meter as I was first taught to use one when I was at 6th-form college many years ago.

All images were made with the camera set to JPEG in monochrome on the lowest resolution my camera will record for blogging use only.

_DSC3866

Above no reflector, natural light ISO-125, 1/8 sec f/6.3

_DSC3868

Above a white-reflector used, 70cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/4.5.

_DSC3869

Above a white-reflector used, 40cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/4.0.

_DSC3870

Above a white-reflector used, 30cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/3.2.

_DSC3872

Above I used a silver-reflector, 70cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/4.0.

_DSC3873

Above I used a silver-reflector, 40cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/4.5.

_DSC3874

Above I used a silver-reflector, 30cm from the subject, ISO-125, 1/8 sec, f/4.5.

Leave a Reply

