White Balance and Exposure for Assignment 2

I began thinking about white-balance and exposure from the very start with my first assignment.  However, for this assignment, I believe that my white-balance settings and exposure settings will contribute to the success or failure of this new project; so I am manually white-balancing each scene to be sure that I get the balance I need and ensure continuity between shots.

Again, I began using manual exposure settings from day-one; but since my first assignment I have got to know my Sekonic light-meter a lot better and I now understand how to adjust my light-meter to give me the correct readings to match my camera setting when switched to movie mode.  I have also got the hang of making multi light-reading measurements for both reflective and incident the averaging these measurements for finding a suitable setting for my camera.  I have also learned and now putting in to practice the exposure compensation feature that allows for greater contrast within my camera’s limits.  I have been using my Sekonic light-meter for still photography (mainly in conjunction with speed-lights) so I have calibrated my light meter to accurately provide meter readings for all my different lenses.  My meter is the Sekonic L758DR which offers both still and movie metering for DSLRs.  Sekonc also do a special L758-Cine for the professional Cinematographers but my L758DR covers all the exposure settings and features that my D800e can offer me in movie mode without having to use their conversion-tables which can be found in my instruction if using more professional type movie cameras.

I hope by using this separate light-meter I can maintain a continuation of very similar exposures when alternating shots for the same scene even if i can not get all the shots done on the same day I hope I can at least control the exposure-values so there is not a jarring effect as images jump from very bright to very dark which could happen if not controlled properly.  I am maintaining an ISO setting of 125 throughout this movie in order to protect the image quality therefore I consider my handheld light-meter as an essential tool to my work.

I am enjoying this course as it is taking me back to the basics for photography and I never consider myself arrogant enough to think that there is nothing that I can learn of relearn from the basics.  Moreover, I am old school, I believe in trying to get it right in the camera and not rely on software too get you out of trouble.  It seems movie software from a DSLR is not as forgiving as RAW still photography anyway; so getting it right in the camera is more critical if you want your movies to look anywhere near half professional.

Leave a Reply

